From the lower levels throughout human states of being ...
To a soul reaching then the Truth.

About Yoga Vedanta


There are four Vedas, the Rig Veda, Sama Veda, Yajur Veda and Atharva Veda. The Vedas are the primary texts of Hinduism. They also had a vast influence on Buddhism, Jainism, and Sikhism. Traditionally the text of the Vedas was coeval with the universe. Scholars have determined that the Rig Veda, the oldest of the four Vedas, was composed about 1500 B.C., and codified about 600 B.C. It is unknown when it was finally committed to writing, but this probably was at some point after 300 B.C..

The Vedas contain hymns, incantations, and rituals from ancient India. Along with the Book of the Dead, the Enuma Elish, the I Ching, and the Avesta, they are among the most ancient religious texts still in existence. Besides their spiritual value, they also give a unique view of everyday life in India four thousand years ago. The Vedas are also the most ancient extensive texts in an Indo-European language, and as such are invaluable in the study of comparative linguistics.


Introduction: Vedanta | Discover Life Eternal (Excerpted from A lecture at Anandas).

Governing one’s mind is the greatest challenge in human life and yet true liberation can only be achieved through this method. That is, liberty itself is freedom from something and the freedom we seek is from the egocentric suggestions of the mind. Prophet Mohammed declared ”The greatest jihad is the conquest of your ownself”. The self being referred to is the lower self which is the limited individual entangled in their perception, action, emotion and thought. The ego is that choice we make to personalize our experiences resulting in mental fatigue and external friction. The highest Self within us is apprehended when we exercise the choice not to personalize our experiences. This is the first step towards the grandeur of detachment.It is attachment that magnifies our individuality wherein we lose our prospective and objectivity.

The ancient philosophy of Vedanta is a body of knowledge that allows us to take stock of our personality, the tendencies we have,the desires we entertain and the emotions we feel.The fulcrum of Vedanta is the developpment of intellect (buddhi) in order to contain and guide the mind (manas). The means to achieving this is personal reflection upon the various truths regarding the human condition. The courses at Gems Of Yoga, websites and video links suggested provide a platform for exposure to these ideas and an opportunity for our own independent thinking.

Essence of Vedas

The 4 vedas chanting

  1. Rigveda
  2. Yajurveda
  3. Samveda
  4. Atharveda




  • Shambala KalaText of the Kalachakra Tantra
  • Ground Kalachakra
  • Inner Kalachakra
  • Path and fruition
  • Astrology

View More