[1] Mooladhara Chakra - [1.1] Introduction to Mooladhara Chakra and Form

Article Index
[1] Mooladhara Chakra
[1.1] Introduction to Mooladhara Chakra and Form
[1.2] Sound Meditation of Mooladhara Chakra
[1.3] Techniques & Effects Of Meditation
[1.4] Behavioral Characteristics of Mooladhara Chakra
[1.5] Yes, I would like to experience Mooladhara Yoga Meditation
[1.6] More about Mooladhara Chakra
[1.7] Mooladhara chakra from other traditions and other names of Mooladhara Chakra
[1.8] Videos
[1.9] Summary
All Pages


Introduction to Mooladhara Chakra

The Mooladhara Chakra is represented by the element Earth, which is the most dense being a mixture of the water, fire, air and space. It gives stability and security and provides the sense of smell. Earth dominates for 20 minutes when breath flows from right or left nostril. The element Earth is the foundation of the body, the bones, flesh, skin, Nadis and body hair. It is best suited for stationary activities. It combines with water to form Kapha.

Ruler: Ganesha

Ganesha, son of Shiva Parvati should be invoked in the beginning. He is an obstacle breaker. His skin color is coral orange. He wears a lemon yellow dhoti. He has 4 arms to serve him while he acts as destroyer of obstacles.

  • In his upper right hand is hatchet - meaning control of “elephant of desires”.
  • Lower Right Hand - grants fearlessness.
  • His upper left hand holds a lasso (pash) meaning - the bondage of worldly attachment.
  • His lower left hand holds a ladoo-sattvic, ringing wealth & prosperity to the house.


Visualization of Ganesha helps to stop internal chatter and free up the right hemisphere of the brain and subdues the left hemisphere which is critical and prevents obstacle to sadhna or practise.

Its animal symbol is Airavat which is the white elephant of Indra with seven colored trunks like a rainbow. The seven colors are seven frequencies of light or seven desires, or seven aspects of individual consciousness, seven notes in the octave, seven planets or seven chakras.

Its deity is Brahama the lord of creation controls the North direction & is pure. Brahamas energy appear in twilight hours of dawn and dusk. Brahama has 4 heads depicting 4 directions, 4 aspects of human consciousness or 4 forms of sound

  • Para
  • Pashyanti
  • Madhyama
  • Vaikhari


The deity of Mooladhara Chakra is four headed Brahama representing the four directions and through his four heads he imparts cosmic wisdom as four Vedas. Brahama is invoked by bija mantra LANG.

The Mooladhara Chakra shakti is Dakini which comes from Dhatu, which means the “beholder”. You have to please the doorkeeper which is Dakini to enter the door of Sushumna. Dakini is the force of Brahama and is worshipped as radiant pink with red eyes. She is red like the rising sun and a fearsome goddess but her pleasant form should be meditated upon.

Dakini carries the light of Divine knowledge which she imparts to Yogi. Her single head indicates concentration, in which the aspirants “I” consciousness dissolves. She is divinely dressed and mother of wealth. Dakini has 4 arms and hands.

  • In lower right hand she holds a sword- to remove fear, destro ignorance and help the yogic to overcome obstacles.
  • In her upper right hand she holds - a shield for protection
  • In her lower left hand she hold - a skull which means detachment from fear of death - the basic psychological block of the first chakra
  • In her upper left hand she holds - trident which symbolises the combined energy of the creator, the preservor and destroyer.


[1] Chakra Features

  • Techniques & Effects Of Mooladhara Chakra Meditation
  • Behavioral Characteristics of Mooladhara Chakra
  • Mooladhara Chakra from other traditions and other names of Mooladhara Chakra

I want to experience a Mooladhara Chakra meditation to increase my potentiality obtainable by Meditation rather than as obtained by Birth.

[1] Yes/No/Maybe

Book an Appointment

  • I want to book with online Appointment Plus
  • I will Pay online
  • I will fill my contact details

Introduction to Chakras

The Chakras are part of Tantra & Yantra. Your body is the most powerful of all Yantras. The world originated from Cosmic Person body. The Sun came out of his eyes, the moon from his Mind, Indra & Fire from his mouth, Wind from his breath, Air from his navel, Sky from his head, Earth from his feet---. The body condenses the entire universe in it.

More Information